top of page

Weary Soldier |©Bridget Marcus


I want to forewarn you before you begin reading this one. This is a part of the journey where it gets hard. So, if you will, I ask that you give me a little grace with this one.


In my last blog I shared how I was still in the wilderness season and I was encouraging not only myself but others to keep pushing forward and that our promised land is just around the corner. I've often pondered the story in Exodus where the Israelites got to where they began to complain about their whole wilderness situation. I would find myself getting frustrated with them upon reading the story. I would be like, "just suck it up and do what you're supposed to do!". Like it all happened in a single day and not 40 years. What was I thinking? Today I don't find myself as frustrated with them as I used to when re reading the story. Why? Because I can relate to them. The wilderness is not such a welcoming or comfortable place to be but it is necessary for every believer. It is where the training begins, the dismantling, the rebuilding, and let's not forget the pruning so new fruit can grow. It is also the place where healing can come from if we let it. But to say that you don't end up with battle wounds and scars is an understatement. Friends, this girl is tired. I have found myself wining like those same Israelites lately and asking Father God to forgive me in the process. This has been a hard season. The enemy has tried to... ok scratch that he has at times made me feel so secluded, overlooked, unheard, misunderstood, crazy, mocked and like the promise land isn't even in sight and that we about to go around this mountain for 40 more. But God. Thankfully I received some deliverance from some of that but I am still down to a crawl. I'm pretty sure if you could see me in the spirit I would have cuts, scrapes, and bruises all over me with bandages from head to toe. Maybe a black eye or two. Too dramatic? Maybe. But I could believe it. And I can all but bet you'd look the same too in some cases. I don't know a single person that hasn't felt the weight of what this last season has tried to have us to carry. Thank goodness we can unload it all on Jesus. I just keep waiting to be told, "go check out the new territory and report back." I know that nothing we go through is without a purpose. I believe He is lining it all up in His perfect timing for our good and His glory! In the meant time I may complain a little but I am going to praise Him a whole lot. Weary Soldier here is your reminder once again to hang in there. Our promised land is coming even if we have to crawl to get there.



47 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page