top of page

A Season of Rest & Recovery |©Bridget Marcus

Jesus Rested. Hard to believe that Jesus needed rest but He did. He was human just like you and I and He pulled away and then returned and picked right back up to tend to His sheep. We are no different. There is a difference between running away and then knowing in your heart and your spirit that you "need" to take time away to heal, to refocus, and to rest in many different ways than one so He can prepare us for the next journey that is up ahead. The other day I heard in my spirit, "go back to the basics". There has been too much noise going on in my life (both good and bad noise) and it has been hard to hear the Lord clearly and then suddenly it got real silent. A few months back my Pastor shared a word with us that God was going to bring His people some R & R. That word was brought back to me as it dawned on me that me and my family were being brought into a season of Rest & Recovery. Believe it or not God is still God even when we aren't doing anything and He doesn't stop working even when we do. He also fills the roles that we can't. The guilt has been there. I have struggled with letting go to let God. I have been busy in ministry of some kind since becoming a Christian as a teenager. Letting people down is not something I like to do. I realize that is a part of that religious spirit on feeling like I have to strive and stay busy or I'm not a good Christian. I have even been judgmental, at times, of others for not choosing to be "busy". But God. There are seasons where we are called to Rest. And who knew how hard it was to do just that. I am writing this because others may not understand where I am coming from and then there are some of you who do. It's ok if you don't. I want people to know that I am not choosing to run away from my destiny or choosing to quit the race I have been running but I am choosing to do what is currently best for me and my family and that is to take some time away to rest and recover. When the time is right I know He will release me to getting back on track so I can finish the race and to continue the path or journey He wants me to be on and in the mean time I have to choose to trust that He will take care of all the in between. Below is one of my favorite verses. As a child of God you will go through all kinds of seasons. I am just glad that God is steadfast and He doesn't change and that He loves me and out of all the people in the world He understands my heart. If you are reading this and you feel you are also being called into a season of Rest and Recovery. Just know that you can trust Him through it and as hard as it is give Him time to do a work in and through you and don't rush it. There is a season and a reason for everything.



ECCLESIASTES 3

Everything Has Its Time

1To everything there is a season,

A time for every purpose under heaven:

2A time to be born,

And a time to die;

A time to plant,

And a time to pluck what is planted;

3A time to kill,

And a time to heal;

A time to break down,

And a time to build up;

4A time to weep,

And a time to laugh;

A time to mourn,

And a time to dance;

5A time to cast away stones,

And a time to gather stones;

A time to embrace,

And a time to refrain from embracing;

6A time to gain,

And a time to lose;

A time to keep,

And a time to throw away;

7A time to tear,

And a time to sew;

A time to keep silence,

And a time to speak;

8A time to love,

And a time to hate;

A time of war,

And a time of peace.




12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page